Skip to content

A Salute to the Red Admiral (Butterfly, That Is)

January 30, 2011

Out wandering at Santiago Oaks Regional Park this weekend, I found an unfamiliar butterfly sharing the trail at the Barham Ridge lookout point:

Of course I had to angle for a shot with my bare hiking feet...

Since the creature never fluttered the whole time I was taking photos, and because its left wing seemed pretty tattered, I started to wonder if it this creature’s breeze-riding days were over. I approached for a closer shot.

That was enough. The handsome Admiral set sail, but then landed a few feet down the trail in the same position: wings open, back to the warm setting sun.

When I got home, it was easy to identify it using Peter Bryant’s amazing web site, Natural History of Orange County. A few clicks and I had Peter’s photos of 71 local Southern California butterfly species to compare with my photos…and I discovered I had come across a Red Admiral.

You’ll have to go to his site to read for yourself about how “friendly” this species is. Pretty cool…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Don Witten permalink
    February 5, 2011 10:01 am

    Hey Thea! I stumbled across your website…very cool! I remember you sent me a link earlier, but our school blocks such subversive sites as yours. This is great…I love the barefoot shots. I would like to try the Vibram foot-shoe thingys…sorry for the technical name dropping on you. I will check back with you. I’m re-upped on Facebook now (mixed feelings on that one), so maybe I’ll try to “friend” you. Take care, and keep writing!

    Love,

    Don

    P.S. Love the bobcat!

    • February 6, 2011 1:53 pm

      Thanks for the note. It’s always good to hear from you 🙂

      I’ll be stalking you on FB soon…

Leave a Reply

