Skip to content

Three weeks at Grand Canyon National Park, North Rim

June 28, 2011

It’s weird to be back…my writing brain is still out on the trails of the North Rim.  It’s a place beyond adjectives, but of course I’m going to try to come up with a few in the coming weeks of posts . . .  photos can’t really touch the essence of being there, either–but that didn’t stop me from filling up my digital camera memory card every day.

The image, above, I took using my little Joby tripod and the 10-second shutter delay setting.  I’m sitting on the edge of the North Kaibab Trail, just below the Supai Tunnel (two miles and about 1500 feet below the Rim).  It took me three hours to get there the day I took this photo . . . that’s right . . . two miles in three hours.

I hurt my knee hiking downhill on the North Kaibab two days into my stay, but that didn’t stop me from crutching along anyway, using my hiking poles to ease the impact. One. Slow. Step. At. A. Time.

I came to the North Rim to hike! (or at least hobble )

The plus side of inching my way down the trail: a chance to appreciate all the flowers along the way . . . including this tiny beauty, which even a North Rim botanist could not identify when I showed him the photo later. (That’s my index fingertip for size comparison.) The majesty and mystery of Grand Canyon? It’s in big vistas as well as close-up looks.

And the butterflies along the North Kaibab Trail! Numerous & splendiferous!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

