Skip to content

Grand Canyon poem

October 22, 2011

Last weekend I had the pleasure of accompanying a group of college students to Grand Canyon; for many of them it was their first introduction to this fabulous-amazing-beyond-superlatives place. A poem resulted . . .

Grand Canyon: A view from Bright Angel Point, North Rim

Introducing Others to the Edge

Friends: meet the empty
air, arias carved
out of rocks beyond
our puny clock
philosophy.

Big ol’ hole
in the Kaibab Plateau:
these are my friends.
Treat them as well as
you’ve treated me—
burn their muscles,
scar their skin
and memory.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2011 2:07 pm

    Hi Thea, I love your poem, I can really relate to it’s inner thoughts. Now you have me wanting to get to the hole! Havn’t been there in years. Linda

    • October 25, 2011 11:45 am

      Thanks Linda! I’ve added a link to your fabulous photography page . . . I hope more people find your work.

Leave a Reply

