Skip to content

Gopher snake excitement on the trail

March 16, 2012

Out on the trail at Santiago Oaks Regional Park this afternoon–even though it was overcast and cool, I spotted a snake on the trail ahead. It didn’t look like a rattler, so I got closer and took some photos, which I used to identify it when I got home. It’s a gopher snake–probably a San Diego gopher snake:  Pituophis catenifer annectens

Image

Image

 

It was a great day for photo ops with my Canon pocket camera’s self-timer:

Image

I shot a bunch of photos like this to put in my forthcoming “Barefoot Song” music video, coming soon to a YouTube near you (lyrics by Thea Gavin, music and vocals by Dave and Anne Hiebert . . . aka the musical duo DNA).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

