Skip to content

Summer birds and barefoot wandering

August 9, 2012

Trail-time in the summer: can there ever be enough of it?

The Little Lakes Valley trail (out of the Mosquito Flats trailhead) is one I’ve loved since I first backpacked it as a kid back in the 1960s. Last Saturday was a little more crowded than 45 years ago, and we don’t drink out of the lakes any more, but it’s still a (insert over-the-top synonym for beautiful here) place.

Classic Eastern Sierra: granite, meadow, mountains, clouds.

That was last weekend. This morning’s run took me back to my old familiar haunt: the hills and arroyos east of Orange.

Birds everywhere were doing their birdy things before another hot summer day settled in.

A little member of a little flock of birds with a little name: Lesser Goldfinch.

I always hear this bird in the prickly pear patches that cling to the steep slopes, but I rarely get such a long glimpse: this cactus wren held still just long enough for me to grab my  camera out of my handy-dandy Nathan hydration vest pocket.

Cactus wren in prickly pear  along the Chutes Ridgeline Trail.

Great Blue Heron looks for fish below the Villa Park Dam.

A wooly darkling beetle leaves an intricate, symmetrical set of tracks in the summer dust.

Me and my shadow, enjoying the blessings of another summer morning on the barefoot trail.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

