Skip to content

Summer-in-winter: barefoot fun on a sunny February trail

February 23, 2013

While other parts of the US suffer under buckets of snow, here in So Cal it’s nothing but sun: perfect barefoot hiking/trail running weather. Since the nights have still been in the low 40s, and I needed a fairly early start to my trail time yesterday, I figured it would be a good time to try out my new “minimalist sport sandals”: the Pah Tempe by Unshoes.

Pah Tempe by Unshoes

Pah Tempe by Unshoes

Even though I got the thinnest sole they had (6 mm) it still felt like way too much stuff between my feet and the ground. When I wore them around the house the night before, the front flapped under once or twice–a price I happily pay in order to NOT have a strap between my toes.

As I had read in other blog reviews, these sandals do have a weird flap-strap action, but it only took a few minutes to figure out how to tuck it under so it wouldn’t wave in the breeze.

Flappy extra strap

Floppy extra strap

No under-flappage occurred out of the trail, but I could only stand to wear them for the first 15 minutes; even though the air was 50 degrees, the ground had been warmed up enough by the sun and I. Needed. Dirt.

Plus–walking by puddles without being able to muck my toes around was a bummer.

Should I or shouldn't I? It's never a question when I'm barefoot . . .

Should I or shouldn’t I? It’s never a question when I’m barefoot . . .

 

So off with the sandals and into the mud:

Happy mud feet.

Happy mud feet.

And now, my much more fun version of those “other” toe/minimalist shoes:

Five fingers? No Vibram sole required . . .

Five fingers? No Vibram sole required . . .

Such a blue sky morning! Blue flowers, too:

Native nightshade.

Native nightshade.

 

Native wild hyacinth (Dichelostemma capitatum)

Native wild hyacinth (Dichelostemma capitatum)

Native wishbone bush in bloom, near Barham RIdge.

Native wishbone bush in bloom, near Barham Ridge.

Although only five mule deer are visible in this photo, this herd was the biggest I’d ever seen in the Irvine Park/Santiago Oaks area I’ve been wandering in for 15+ years: seven of these lovely creatures were slowly grazing downslope from me. Little-known fact: even male mule deer squat to do their biz-ness. (Note the one caught on camera, second from the left, is a female.)

Mule deer on the move.

Mule deer on the move.

 

Green under oaks, near the mouth of Weir Canyon.

Green under oaks, near the mouth of Weir Canyon.

 

Lemonade berry: not quite ripe.

Lemonade berry: not quite ripe. How do I know? I tried it, and it had not yet developed its deliciously tangy, slippery outer coating yet. Bleh.

I did not see this, my favorite blue flower, on the trail yesterday, but they are starting to bloom in my yard, and the wild ones should be popping soon.

Blue-eyed grass.

Blue-eyed grass.

 

Also in my yard today:

Monarch on Dichelostemma.

Monarch on Dichelostemma capitatum.

In Orange County, February is springing!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 15, 2013 7:43 pm

    Wishing it was warm enough up here in Bellingham, WA to go galavanting barefoot! Love those photos.

Leave a Reply

