Skip to content

A Poem for Spring 2013

March 19, 2013

The days are getting longer, and I’m getting crankier: spring fever, big-time, but lots of work to keep me too busy to think about what I’m missing. Or maybe not:

Vernal Equinoxious
22 to the 55 to the 405*

Trapped in my commute,
I envy the spring-

ing color that flames
from the flesh-wound

horizon, all pink and ragged.
Trapped in my car

(the eastern ridges simmering
with promise of trails)

I pine for white sage,
ceanothus haze,

scrub oak sparkle,
manzanita peel.

Trapped in a pocket
of spring morning fog,

the hills go gray,
them and me.

(*The numbers under the title refer to the freeways that comprise my morning commute . . . )

In other news: last weekend’s wander (after all these years, I found a “new” trail through The Willows at Irvine Park, and loved it) yielded my first snake encounter in a long time. Too long . . . I’ve missed seeing my slender friends along the trail.  Here’s a gopher snake, sprawled out and sunning like he owned the road.

Gopher snake

Gopher snake in hiding.

Gopher snake in hiding.

Other signs of spring on/near The Willows trails:

Sycamore leaves fuzzing along.

Sycamore leaves fuzzing along.

Wild cucumber fruit.

Wild cucumber fruit.

New willow growth.

New willow growth.

Lupine along the trail.

Lupine along the trail.

Yerba santa.

Yerba santa.

The Willows trail.

The Willows trail.

Poison oak, The Willows.

Poison oak, The Willows.

Sunday morning reminder.

Sunday morning reminder.

Here’s a first: all photos of wandering, but no bare feet. They were there, though, helping me enjoy the sights, sounds, scents and sensations of an almost-spring morning in our beautiful Orange County foothills.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2013 3:05 pm

    Thanks for the note–enjoy spring! The days are getting longer, and it’s so nice to have time to go for a late afternoon hike/run. Happy Trails!

  2. March 19, 2013 9:00 pm

    Love all the photos…except the “poison oak” one – too many bad memories. Spring fever here too in the PNW; hope you get out again soon!

Leave a Reply

