Skip to content

Barefoot Running Rehab on the Trail: Some Flowers, Some Trash, Some Whine

April 21, 2013
Trying to warm my toes on the morning trail.

Trying to warm my toes on the morning trail.

This morning Irvine Park was chilly—low 50’s—and my toes went numb pretty fast, until I decided to get out of the Santiago Creek lowland where the cold air had settled.

A short steep trail leads up to the top edge or ridge overlooking the wide floodplain… probably a half mile across at this point, with the Willows spread out below in the morning shadow. Brrr. I wanted sunshine, not shade, today.

View to the west: The Willows.

View to the west: The Willows.

I’d just been over this trail a week ago, but the “same old trail” is never the same— golden stars (Bloomeria crocea) are now blooming, like little bursts of yellow fireworks.

Golden stars in bloom mean the rains are over.

IMG_4176 (602x640)

Last week on this section of trail:  mariposa lilies.

IMG_4138 (640x593)

What kind of flower is this?

What kind of flower is this?

IMG_4214 (480x640)

A fuzzy lupine in the mouth of Weir Canyon.

Man Cow Rock, mouth of Weir Canyon.

Man Cow Rock, mouth of Weir Canyon, viewed from The Chutes trail.

Who's keeping an eye on Weir Canyon?

Who’s keeping an eye on Weir Canyon?

The morning light made for some fun shadowy photo-ops.

IMG_4151 (480x640)

IMG_4193 (480x640)

This stuff is never fun to find (but it’s not going to go away on its own).

Tear tab trash.

Tear tab trash. “Just Plain” stupid.

Read the label: don't litter.

Read the label: don’t litter.

The morning's haul.. . .

The morning’s haul. . . .

Injury update (stop reading here if you are allergic to whining).

As I slowly work to rehab my latest running injury (the ankle/achilles residue of last summer’s exuberant-barefoot-trail-running overdose) I am trying not to get discouraged. (Still . . . in three weeks it will be the nine-year anniversary of The Left Patella Incident at the Bishop High Sierra trail race. That’s a lot of phy$ical therapy . . . )

After my most recent set-back when I “overdid it” and brought the heel pain back with a little too much, too soon (five sets of two minutes running was one set too much, I guess) the physical therapist gave me somewhat surprising advice: don’t stop running!

He said to just cut back and keep pushing against the pain/no pain threshold. He said his job would be to listen to my feedback about what/where/how the pain re-appeared, and that’s how we would work through this until I am ready to run a hundred miles (He is also a  runner, understands crazy, and was polite enough not to laugh in my face when I told him my goal.)

So today I hiked for about an hour, then, when almost back to the car, did one minute of slow running, walked a few more minutes, and ran about two minutes, and walked the rest of the way.

Running through the Willows a week ago. The trail made me do it . . . how can you not run and run through here . . .

Over-running through the Willows a week ago. The trail made me do it . . . how can you not run and run and run through here . . .

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2013 6:17 pm

    :)http://iamforchange.wordpress.com/awards-page-and-nominations-thank-you-i-am-so-honored-and-grateful/ So many have shared so much with me and I wish to share as well please accept my nominations and if nothing else know I am grateful for your sharing on your pages with us all and the time you share with me on mine.Thank you!! 🙂 Joe

  2. Kelly Anderson permalink
    April 21, 2013 7:36 am

    Very nice botanizing. Bob and Ron would be proud.

Leave a Reply

