Skip to content

My first half-marathon is approaching . . . and I’m half-injured

March 14, 2014

The running has been going fabulously . . . the most I’ve ever been able to run.

It feels light, and effortless (well, almost), and I made about 10 miles last Friday–10 miles up and down 2800 foot of elevation gain/loss spread out over four ridges in the hills outside of Irvine Park/Santiago Oaks. I thought it would be a good idea to pre-run the course, and it was a blast. I finished in 2:20 after power-hiking pretty much all of the uphills, just to make sure I could do it.

I could.

Sure there was a little calf soreness the next few days . . . to be expected . . . so I got out the old “Stick” roller and gently rolled out my calves a couple of times. Saturday and Sunday: two days of sitting through a conference. Monday: sit all day at work, then a short, easy run. Felt fine. Tapering for the race.

Tuesday: Sit to work at computer. Stand to teach. Sit some more.

Wednesday: swing my legs out of bed, step onto the floor, and . . . . (drum roll?) OUCH! The soft tissue between my achilles and heel is suddenly tight and on fire.

And there goes the $70 entry fee for the race that is only 10 days away.

On the bright side (and there always is, if you take off the reflective highway-patrol-officer shades), there is the fact that we got two days of rain, and there is mud and fog and mushrooms and wildflowers:

Glorious mud

Glorious mud

Sycamore in morning sun and fog

Sycamore in morning sun and fog

Layers of fog and ridges

Layers of fog and ridges

Mushroom on the trail

Mushroom on the trail

Mushroom cap close-up: jewels of dew and fragments of earth

Mushroom cap close-up: jewels of dew and fragments of earth

California poppy season in my garden

California poppy season in my garden

Blue-eyed grass (also in my back yard)

Blue-eyed grass (also in my back yard)

Clockwise from lower left: phacelia, buckwheat, poppy

Clockwise from lower left: phacelia, clarkia, buckwheat, dudleya, poppy

Trap door spider home: "nobody knows but me."

Trap door spider home: “nobody knows but me.”

The solace of the trail, the cheeriness of wildflowers in my urban back yard, the kind words of family and friends who know how cranky not-running makes me: for all of these I am grateful.

. . . .and I am back to physical therapy and trying to figure out how to run in a way that is sustainable; barefooting alone is not a “magic bullet,” so I continue to learn about how our bodies are meant to move, even as I sit most of the day.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

