Skip to content

Another race, another cancellation, another approach

June 5, 2014

Last November I entered two trail races: a half-marathon in April, and a 50k in June. When heel pain struck, I cancelled the first race, but was able to run 12 miles on my own just a few weeks later. It was fabulous to trot along for three hours, taking a few wildflower pictures here and there, carrying my hiking poles like spears when I wasn’t heading up a hill, just lightly drifting through my favorite local foothills. And the race organizers were kind and agreed to credit my entry fee for one of the their races later this year.

As the June 7 race approached, and May continued with one busy day after another, my back went into spasm (and old trick it’s played for almost 15 years . . . too much sitting followed by intense physical labor in the garden = back spasm). So I emailed another kind race director, who also said I could apply my entry to another of his races. I wish I could say I ran 50k soon after that, but I have only run once, a brief-and-easy 40 minutes a few days ago. It felt OK, but after running, it was pretty tight and a bit sore still.

So . . . today I had my first Feldenkrais session, and I’m optimistic that this continued focus (a year of Pilates has been so helpful) on being aware of my body and movements is a good next step toward my life-time goal of running until I’m 100 (or am invited to dinner by a mountain lion).

It’s been a strange spring, personally and weather-wise, with a late rain bringing just enough moisture to conjure up a few wildflowers in our wild Orange County hills. I found mud, which is always a great barefoot experience, and which always cheers me up.

It’s dusty June now . . . my next goal is . . . hike/run across the Grand Canyon (sans shoes, of course) later this month. I walked/limped across (no shoes, but my knee hurt anyway) in 14 hours over two days for 23 miles, North Rim to South Rim, North Kaibab to Bright Angel trails, in lovely rain the first day. That was in October 2012; the limiting factor this time of year is the heat. I would have to leave pretty early in the morning to get to the other side before the ground surface gets too warm for comfort (maybe leave at 3 am; it will be light not too long after that). We’ll see how the weather shapes up; I’ll be at the Canyon anyway, and ¬†besting my 14-hour/2-day PR is not my highest priority. Just being at the Canyon is enough . . .

And now for some “make-up” photos from the last couple of months (these will be the last from my Canon pocket camera . . . RIP . . . I dropped it once too many times):

A late rain = the last mud of the season.  Toe much fun!

A late rain = the last mud of the season. Toe much fun!

Here's a response to the nice comment on a previous post . . . someone out there likes my footprint photos . . . thanks . . . I like to make these images . . .

Here’s a response to the nice comment on a previous post . . . someone out there likes my footprint photos . . . thanks . . . I like to make these images . . .

A tiny bloomer . . . rattlesnake weed along the trail.

A tiny bloomer . . . rattlesnake weed along the trail.

These shiny guys like to cross the trails . . . but sometimes get squashed by mountain bike tires. Go, bug, go.

These shiny guys like to cross the trails . . . but sometimes get squashed by mountain bike tires. Go, bug, go.

Prolific this year: wishbone flowers all over the local hills.

Prolific this year: wishbone flowers all over the local hills.

Less common this year, but always welcome: sticky monkey flower (the best name ever).

Less common this year, but always welcome: sticky monkey flower (the best name ever).

One of my favorite California wildflower + leaf combos + early morning light combos: thick-leaved yerba santa (and it smells like fruit punch, and the leaves are fruity-spicy to chew while running).

One of my favorite California wildflower + leaf + early morning light combos: thick-leaved yerba santa (it smells like fruit punch, and the leaves are fruity-spicy to chew while running).

The eastern hills of Orange County on a May morning.

The eastern hills of Orange County on a May morning.

Last month, golden stars lit up the Orange County trails.

Last month, golden stars lit up the Orange County trails.

Bare feet and deer prints in the dust.

Bare feet and deer prints in the dust.

We had such a heat wave that this Cooper's hawk spent ten minutes gulping water from our backyard bird bath . . . the wild comes to us . . .

We had such a heat wave that this Cooper’s hawk spent ten minutes gulping water from our backyard bird bath . . . the wild comes to us . . .

Mule deer are rare enough here that each sighting feels like a gift. Does this deer feel the same way about people sightings?

Mule deer are rare enough here that each sighting feels like a gift. Does this deer feel the same way about people sightings?

This monarch landed on our window screen recently  . . . the original "stained glass window."

This monarch landed on our window screen recently . . . the original “stained glass window” effect.

The season's snow substitute: willow fluff.

So Cal’s summer snow substitute: willow fluff.

Happy June trails . . . it’s time to run . . .

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

