Skip to content

Backpacking and trail running: two new (barefoot) videos

November 8, 2014

This morning I was thankful to be able to run the Into the Wild OC Trail Runs’ Limestone Canyon 12k. Here’s a short (and probably a bit too shaky) video I made to remember this fun morning: https://www.youtube.com/edit?o=U&video_id=spqcNbDK0J8

With around 900 feet of elevation gain/loss on an unseasonably warm November morning (it was in the 80s by the time the race was over), I was pleased with my 1:33:04 time . . . especially because my knee felt just fine on all the hills. (Thank you Dr. Derrick Sueki of Knight Physical Therapy for Wednesday’s session that sure helped turn my knee around from whatever caused that painful race result two weeks ago!)

An arsonist set fire to the canyon in 2007; the oaks are still struggling.

An arsonist set fire to the canyon in 2007; the oaks are still struggling.

The last mile of the course was along a gravel road . . . a bit of a challenge for my bare feet, but they performed admirably.

The last mile of the course was along they uber-gravely Limestone Canyon road . . . a bit of a challenge for my bare feet, but they performed admirably.

After seven miles, my feet felt fine . . . after a little post-race twinginess from picking their way through all that gravel.

After seven miles, my feet felt fine . . . just a little post-race twinginess from picking their way through all that gravel.

A month ago (see previous post) I went backpacking in Havasu Canyon . . . it’s 10 miles to the campground from the trailhead (with about 2,000 feet in elevation loss in the first couple of miles).  Here’s a short video tribute to help me remember that adventure: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2GIztnuXe20

Happy (video) Trails . . .

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

