Skip to content

Mooning around on the (barefoot) trail

September 30, 2015

full moon september

My little pocket camera does not do too well with moon shots . . . Tuesday morning’s image (above) is about as good as it gets.

Here’s a very blurry picture of Sunday night’s lunar eclipse . . . what a spectacular show that was!

lunar eclipse september 2015

Summer ended with a blaze of hot days that continues through this week; to deal with it I’ve taken to dawn patrol trail excursions as I prepare for my October Rim-to-Rim adventure at the Grand Canyon.

Since I’ll be hiking across with others, I’m wondering if I’ll have to wear sandals to keep up. Right now, as fall begins, my bare feet have a summer-ful of experience on lovely rocky trails.

barefoot shadow

Here’s a poem that happened as I posted these photos:

prickly pear and full moon

Rocks and cactus . . .

raven silhouette

. . . raven ruckus . . .

turkey vultures perched in tree

. . . vultures thinkin’ . . .

darkling beetle

. . . beetle stinkin’. . .

IMG_1870

. . . full moon show . . .

IMG_1887

. . . ridgeline glow.

IMG_1875

Sun soft,

moon pale–

double-beauty

morning trail.

Happy Autumn Trails!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2015 8:59 am

    The shadow picture is amazing!

  2. September 30, 2015 11:15 am

    I love that shadow picture! But really, somebody should buy you a decent camera.

    • October 1, 2015 11:30 am

      . . . “Somebody” being the name of the ship that just sailed over the blue horizon 🙂

Leave a Reply

