Skip to content

New video of the barefoot Grand Canyon crossing (R2R)

November 6, 2015

bare foot on rock at Grand Canyon

What a blessing to have enjoyed not one, but TWO trips to Grand Canyon last month to hike Rim-to-Rim.

The first time I hiked with a wonderful group of folks from the Phoenix area; the second time, since I was by myself, I thought I would have more time to set up my little camera along the trail and record bits of video . . . yes, I had a “grand” idea to create a documentary about my adventure.

Ha.

It was tough enough to be hiking . . .

Barefoot

Alone

In the dark

In the COLD . . .

When I started out from the North Rim . . . to be fiddling about composing shots seemed almost foolhardy, given my numb-toes predicament and need to get down to a lower, warmer part of the trail as soon as possible.

As the day (and my toes) thawed out, it became apparent that I needed to keep moving moving moving to make my 4 pm meeting time with my gracious husband who had dropped me off at the North Rim trailhead and was then driving hundreds of miles to meet me at the South Rim . . .  so my grandiose dreams of an Oscar-nominated documentary got left along the trail.

I did manage to “re-enact” my passing along a few sections of trail . . . these clips (plus a little “interview” I created at home) I stitched together in a video (click here). 

Happy (Hollywood?) Trails!

in Bright Angel creek

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina permalink
    November 9, 2015 9:53 am

    Hilarious, fun and remarkably well done! Loved it. Now I have a permasmile. Thanks, Thea!

    • November 10, 2015 6:32 am

      Love the idea of “permasmile” (as opposed to “permafrost”!). Thanks for the note, Gina . . . at least a few folks are on my humor wave length 🙂

  2. November 7, 2015 3:46 am

    Your video made me want to do this, Thea. Well, maybe not all in one go! How did you survive without a selfie-stick? Hahah You are amazing. Love the humour! Inspirational stuff, that’s for sure. 🙂

Leave a Reply

