Skip to content

Another step on the (barefoot, parkour) journey

January 21, 2016

Continuing my 2016 focus on “more movement, more fun”. . . I’ve been discovering all kinds of new ways to play at my favorite local park: Irvine Regional Park.

It’s been a county park since 1897; I’ve been running in the hills surrounding it for about 20 years, but only in the last couple of weeks have I realized there’s so much more to do than “just” run.  A fabulous web resource for folks looking to add liveliness to their lives is “Nerd Fitness,” which describes parkour this way:

“Parkour is for Everyone. Anyone can figure out a way to traverse an obstacle. Parkour is just a mindset to find your own best way through in each particular situation and moment.”

Bonus: others seem willing to join the fun!

Here are the latest images from two recent visits to Irvine Park:

 

IMG_6962

Thanks, Gina B., for “hanging out” on a beautiful January afternoon! (Remind me of your friend’s name who took all these awesome pictures with my little camera . . . which was set, as always, to “VIVID” . . . ’cause orange skin is a small price to pay for greens that pop 🙂 )

Final photos: the next gen of park runners/crawlers (my grandsons, left, and family friend Katy C, right, a heroic young lady with juvenile diabetes whose spirit of adventure took her over, under, and through all kinds of obstacles at Irvine Park last weekend . . . and which serves her well as she continues to negotiate the tough terrain of Type 1 diabetes at age 11).

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2016 10:52 am

    Lots of fun things to do at Irvine Park.

  2. January 22, 2016 9:07 pm

    Another wonderfully inspiring post, Thea! You look amazingly healthy and fit, and you’re having fun. Thanks for sharing the joys and benefits of a barefoot active lifestyle. 🙂

    • January 23, 2016 3:50 pm

      Thanks for the nice note, Jane. At age 56 (I try to say it a lot to make it seem “normal,” but I still kind of freak out when I think about being close to 60!), I’m very grateful for my steadily increasing strength and endurance . . . even on days when I wake up with aches and pains (like this morning. Somehow a pillow snuck behind my head during the night, and I woke up with a kink in my neck. Stupid pillow 🙂 )

Trackbacks

  1. The “Adventure After 50” takes its show on the road | Barefoot Wandering and Writing

Leave a Reply

