Skip to content

Off the grid and barefoot with the grandkids in Big Sur

July 2, 2016

IMG_4120

Another fun trip in the books . . . how blessed I am to have so many opportunities to travel this year (and how thankful for all the miles driven without incident . . . our So Cal freeways are dangerous places . . . heading home yesterday through holiday weekend traffic was not fun).

IMG_4197

Limekiln State Park near Big Sur, CA, gets you out of  range of cell phone and wi-fi while allowing you to camp (almost) on the beach and hike in a second-growth (but still impressive) redwood forest. Some of the grandkids go shoeless with me . . .

IMG_4139

and others wear flexible tennies. It’s all good.

IMG_4176

Summertime at the beach: barefoot card games . . . and rock art . . .

IMG_4174

and a few brilliant columbines back in the forest:

IMG_4165

Speaking of forests . . . here I am at an early age, already in awe of forest beauty. I’m thankful my parents made sure my six siblings and I had plenty of opportunities to enjoy God’s creation as we grew up . . . which is one reason I am so tickled to get my grandkids camping!

Mc_002

Thanks, Mom and Dad. (Here they are on one of our mid-1960s backpacking expeditions in the Eastern Sierra/Big Pine Lakes area. Love my mom’s “backpacking gloves.”)

45920016

No fish were safe from my brothers and me . . .

45920026

(Although here it looks like mine was the “one that got away.”)

Now it’s time to stay home for a while and work on writing projects . . . but first . . . a poem from this afternoon, written while procrastinating on more pressing tasks (and pondering a question posed by a fellow hiker on the Grand Canyon Hikers and Backpackers FB page: “Why no shoes?”).

Is Fear Keeping Your Life Boot-bound?

A high-stepping mule deer–
that’s me–all perked-up ears,
maybe not as fast
but running wild at last,
almost 60,
feeling 12, mixed-up me
barefoot in the mud-dust-
and-rocks, how much can you trust
a gray-braided lady’s tales
of bliss on the trails?
No more shoe-zing;
my soles are oozing
happiness, free and light
and not a blister or black toenail in sight.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2016 3:22 am

    Wonderful to see all those young bare feet! Thanks for these heartwarming pictures and the lovely poem. 🙂

    • July 16, 2016 8:04 am

      Thanks, Jane. If your heart was warmed, then I’m one happy blogger!

  2. July 3, 2016 3:59 am

    Such a lovely poem!

Leave a Reply

