Skip to content

Barefooted-ly Leaving 2016 in the Dust (or Mud)

December 29, 2016

screen-shot-2016-12-29-at-6-52-39-pm

My daughter and I had a fun Christmas Eve afternoon stroll around Irvine Regional Park, during which she used her photography super-powers to make my feet feel like celebrities:

And, of course, having a camera pointed in my direction definitely inspired me to show off–as much as my still-healing-stress-fractured-lower-right-fibula would allow:

It was a stellar day, all puffy clouds and chilly sunshine and 60-mile views of the snow-capped San Gabriel Mountains:

img_0068

(In case you missed it: Look! Snow!)

img_0074

For weeks, I’ve been trying and trying to work up to more than a few seconds of easy jogging, but the pain keeps reminding me, “Wait! We’ve got a bit more healing to do!”

Sigh. Here’s me “pretending” to run. (None of the rocks were fooled.)

img_0116

As the above photo shows (and all the above photos were by my talented daughter! Thanks!) the trails were luscious with damp dirt and vivid new growth–in Southern California the winter rains bring LIFE to the wild lands (inspiring a poem):

After December rain

a blessing of green
fringes the trail:
moss-lichen-fern-grasses
plump, glow, unfurl, leap–
all our damp feet
are glad for the springing
of chaparral winter
and the promise
of wild February
flowerstorms.

So the wildflowers are on their way . . . just like Scarlett O’Hara reminds us: “Tomorrow is another day.”

And my own personal “tomorrow” finally happened today: I was able to ascend the mile+ trail back to the top of Barham Ridge where the views of the Pacific Ocean were just as amazing as I remembered.

img_0793

That is correct: on December 29, 2016, at 3:45 pm, I finally RAN (slowly) for many minutes! Up and down hills! In running shorts! (It was over 70 degrees today! How many exclamation points can we get away with here?!)

img_0799

So that’s pretty much the end of my barefoot running in 2016; with two days of rain in the forecast, our county park trails will be closed again, and I’ll sulk around the house until my next (2017!) adventure in the wild Orange County foothills that are habitat and home to so much shoe-less life . . . including . . . you-know-who . . .

img_0795

Happy New Year! Happy Trails!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. lynnehartke permalink
    December 30, 2016 11:32 am

    I love your line about February flowerstorms! Can’t wait for those.

    • December 30, 2016 11:53 am

      Thanks 🙂 I imagine you have some fine flowerstorms in your desert as well!

  2. December 29, 2016 10:52 pm

    Happy to read that you were finally able to run some! It was a fun photo shoot and glad there were no injuries after all those balancing acts. 🙂

    • December 30, 2016 10:38 am

      Thanks, daughter! It was pretty funny to have YOU telling ME to be careful . . . what a role reversal 🙂

Leave a Reply

