Skip to content

Happy Barefoot & Muddy Trail Runnin’ New Year!

January 1, 2017

 

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-8-28-42-am

To celebrate both my return to running (after suffering a lower right fibula stress fracture back in October) as well as all the fabulous end-of-year rain here in So Cal, I decided to film a sequel to “I Like Mud (and barefoot running)” (which has had 21,000+ YouTube views in the last three years . . . yikes . . .).

Here it is . . . a much-shorter version of the same plot: crazy old lady goes for a run in the mud and reverts to her childhood.

This time my hair looks a bit wilder, bringing to mind the good old CSN&Y song: “I wonder why/ I feel like letting my freak flag fly.”

But fly it did/does:

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-8-27-58-am

May mud (and other simple pleasures of God’s good creation) enrich your life in 2017!

screen-shot-2017-01-01-at-8-29-23-am

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina permalink
    January 3, 2017 11:10 am

    Happy New Year, Thea. Glad to see you are off to a running start. Hehe. Woooooooot!

    • January 4, 2017 2:15 pm

      You mean a running–and splashing–start 🙂 See you Saturday; I’ll email you to pin down time/place. Happy New Year to you!

  2. January 1, 2017 10:17 pm

    You just had to go and face plant in the mud again…

  3. January 1, 2017 1:17 pm

    Happy New Year Thea!

    Glad you are getting to run some more and the ground and plants down there are getting some water.

    All the best,
    Scott

    • January 1, 2017 8:23 pm

      And Happy New Year to you, Scott! I hope your forest running is going well this winter up in the land of . . . snow? 🙂

      • January 1, 2017 11:12 pm

        Hi Thea,
        Only a little snow down here at sea level. Mostly rain and mud. I’ve got xero sandals and neoprene socks for the snow. Got to try them out hiking up the Elwah road the other week after a snow storm. They kept my feet warm, but I took them off whenever I could get away with it. I’m still experimenting with what I can get away with in terms of cold and long rocky trails, so it is nice to have them as a sort of insurance policy. Down to freezing seems to be fine barefoot as long as I don’t sit still too long. It doesn’t go below that very often, so I’m not as sure about that. Frozen, water logged soil that crunches is really abrasive, so that’s not so barefoot friendly, but frozen soil that holds your weight is fine. I’m getting to do slightly longer runs and haven’t had an injury for well over a year so that is a major plus. I think the heart rate training helped with that because it slowed me down. Now I’m trying to learn how to do hills faster, both up and down. Fun stuff!
        All the best, Scott

      • January 2, 2017 10:15 am

        I just bought neoprene socks for an upcoming backpacking adventure . . . and I was hoping to get some Xero sandals to pair them with, so that was good to hear this combo works. As for “frozen, water logged soil that crunches” . . . yikes! Just the way those words sound is painful! I’m glad to hear your running is going well . . . here’s to an injury-free (and hilly-funly) 2017 🙂

Leave a Reply

